What I Bought Today – Batgirl #18, Bruce Wayne The Road Home: Batgirl (WARNING – SPOILERS)

Well, it’s…erm, Thursday, so that means it’s time to check out…

What I Bought Today

So yeah, because I stayed in yesterday with a headache (and because it was flooding on the East side), I ended up missing Batman #18 and Batman and Robin #18, meaning I missed the two comics that are giving everyone ‘the feels’, as the kids like to call ’em these days. Good news is, while I was there, I found a little something I’d been looking for for a while, so we got ourselves a double helping of Batgirl today! So let’s start with Batgirl #18.

First off, I just want to say that the next few books with the Requiem logo on them better damned sure have more to do with Damian‘s passing than the last couple I’ve read. Now admittedly, there is one really good scene where Batman tells Commissioner Gordon what happened, but other than that and a few tears shed by Barbara (who I’m not even completely sure had much in the way of interaction with Damian), not much lending to the Requiem bit.

Other than that, this issue is the end of Ray Fawkes’ run with Batgirl, and…yeah, kinda glad it’s over with. Admittedly, Ray Fawkes does show some talent here, and Batgirl herself is written okay, but some of the choices he makes with this and the previous issue are kinda iffy. In particular, he honestly makes Jim Gordon Jr. an even bigger freak than I personally feel is necessary. Good news is, next month we get Gail Simone back! YAY!

DAMMIT, I miss Stephanie Brown! T_T

Okay, here’s the thing: I have all of Bryan Q. Miller‘s run on Batgirl that are within the actual numbered issues, but there was one comic that I was missing. Well today, I finally got the one I was looking for, Bruce Wayne The Road Home: Batgirl. For those that don’t know, Bruce Wayne The Road Home is the tale of Bruce deciding to test the various Bat Family members while he’s in the process of recruiting for Batman Incorporated. As usual, Mr. Miller reminds me of why Stephanie Brown is my favourite Batgirl: She’s witty, charming, spunky, and just plain fun. And really, what can I say about a Batgirl that does THIS to Batman (in this exact comic, actually)?

I rest my case. lol

Anyway, I should be getting Batman #18 and Batman and Robin #18 in a couple of weeks. Until then, c’mon back next week as I check in on Nightwing and the Justice League of America. Ja né!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on March 14, 2013, in What I Bought Today and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment