Early Preview of Justice League Infinite Chapter 4

Well, it’s that time again! Here’s an early preview of chapter 4 of my fanfic, Justice League Infinite. This one’s a bit smaller, but I kinda felt like showing it off anyway, just for the heck of it, as we see Superman having to deal with Starro in the depths of space.

…I could’ve been tilling the fields, Calvin thought. I could’ve been writing in my blog. I could’ve gone with Loana to a charity event. Hell, I could’ve built an extension to the barn, installed a Jacuzzi in the house, plucked any of the vegetables ready for plucking, and still have time to do anything else I felt like doing in the span of a day. Instead, I’m in outer space, fighting a giant starfish monster, and hoping I don’t get blown up by a ship that’s about to go nuclear!
Darting to his left, Superman evaded a massive tentacle being swung in his direction, albeit barely. With just he and Green Lantern dealing with Starro now, it was becoming even harder to try and keep him at bay. And it most certainly wasn’t helping that his mind was distracted, thinking of the bomb in the shuttle, the one he’d hoped wouldn’t be used.
Guess Bruce gets to tell me he told me so, Calvin concluded, blocking a swing from Starro and punching his tentacle away. Assuming we live through this…
“Superman, I’m running low on juice!” Green Lantern warned, smacking Starro away with a giant green boxing glove on a sling. “I need to recharge!”
“Get back to the ship!” Superman yelled. “I’ll hold him off!”
“Alone?!” Simon demanded. “Even for you, that’s suicide!”
“Just GO!” Cal bellowed, grabbing hold of one of Starro’s tentacles and swinging him away.
Gritting his teeth hard, Simon nodded, returning to the shuttle. With him gone, Superman found himself squaring off against Starro alone, the creature eyeing him like a piece of meat. The Man of Steel neither flinched nor sweated, balling up as he prepared for battle. Clearly, this was the most powerful foe he’d met up until now, and while that should’ve scared him a little bit, it also made him realize something that made him grin a bit in spite of himself: This was the first fight he’d ever been in where he wouldn’t have to hold back.
“…Alright, big guy, let’s dance!” Superman yelled, charging in with a fist raised.

…Yes, I had the ‘world of cardboard’ speech running through my head while writing that second to last paragraph. So sue me. 😛 Anyway, leave a comment on what you think of the story so far, and be sure to check out chapter 4 when it’s completed. Ja né!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on January 15, 2015, in Comic Books, Fanfiction/Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

