Batgirl Future’s End #1 Review – Why Must The Simone Troll Me So? XP

Batgirl Future's End

…Just…Just, dammit, Gail. I thought we had an understanding that I was NOT going to get anything of Future’s End, that I was not interested, and that I was not going to give DC my money for this event…and then, not only did you make Stephanie Brown Batgirl again, not only did you bring back Cassandra Cain as Batgirl, and not only did you make Lucius Fox’s daughter Batgirl (I thought it was Nell to be honest, but whatevs, I’ll take what I can get), but you brought back the Gooperangs. I LOVE THE GOOPERANGS! XD

Okay, for realsies? What makes this comic so awesome is a couple of things. The first, as I’ve made clear, is the three Batgirls, not only for being there, but how they interact, work together, and play off each other. Of all the stuff revealed to be in this possible future of Future’s End (and yes, let’s not fool ourselves, it’s a POSSIBLE future, regardless of what DC says or wants us to believe), this is one of the very few things I would LOVE to see be a thing in the future. But the other thing that makes this comic awesome is Barbara. Despite some truly AWFUL things that happen to her in the future, and finding herself delving into the wrong side of the law at times, we see in the end that, no matter what happens, she is always Babs, and she will never give up nor give in. In many ways, it feels like one last love letter from Gail to Babs…Oh, and also, because Bane is the main antagonist and is used brilliantly.

I will say, though, that one problem I have with the comic is Babs’ costume as the Bête Noire. I get that she’s supposed to look like a cross between Batgirl and Bane, but does she have to have the collar and the megaboobs? Also, and I get that this is totally a me problem, but I still think Babs should’ve gotten married to Alysia. Though, on the flip side, it’s nice to see her with someone who is apparently expecting their child, so that’s another happy ending hinted at.

Ugh, so yeah, I did in fact buy one comic in Future’s End, and because it’s so good, I have little choice but to mark it as highly recommended. There, YOU WIN, okay DC? But only because you had an evil genius writing this book who knew exactly how to loophole herself a way to get damned near every Batgirl fan what they wanted with this one book, so to The Simone, I say this: Well played, Gail. I honestly don’t know whether I hate you or love you with this book. lol

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on September 10, 2014, in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

