My Thoughts On The Wrecking Ball Phenomenon

So, one thing I’ve noticed in regards to popular music of the past year was that Miley Cyrus’ Wrecking Ball was apparently one of the most iconic songs of 2013, if not the single most iconic. Now, I know a lot of people are immediately thinking stuff like “No wonder 2013 sucked”, “Maybe the end of the world SHOULD’VE come at the end of 2012”, etc. However, I’ve done some analysis on the Wrecking Ball phenomenon, as it were, and I’ve come to the inevitable conclusion that may shock and surprise many, but here we go: Wrecking Ball, for what it is, is NOT a bad song.

Now, here me out here. When I say that Wrecking Ball isn’t a bad song, I am NOT saying it doesn’t have problems. In fact, having listened to the song a number of times, both by Miss Cyrus and in various covers, parodies, mash-ups, and remixes, I’ve come to the conclusion that the biggest problem the song has is Miley Cyrus herself. I’ve made it clear that I’m not fond of listening to covers, remixes, and even downright stolen lyrics on the radio when they come in massive clusterings, but I DO enjoy cover bands on YouTube. As such, I HAVE heard a number of covers of Wrecking Ball, and I can say as clear as day that this never should’ve been a Miley Cyrus song. The song should be a ballad, that simple. Can there be different takes on the song in different styles? Sure, but the primary version of the song that everyone should know should be a ballad. And I know I’m probably not surprising many when I say this, but Miley Cyrus, in the image and direction that she is taking herself these days, cannot deliver on the type of song Wrecking Ball should have been. On top of that, the infamous music video did not help matters.

So, if I was asked to summarize: Because the version of Wrecking Ball most well-known to the public is tainted by Miley’s vocals and the bizarre imagery of the music video, the song is believed to be poor. The reality is, when presented appropriately, the song can be anywhere from good to great. So, if you ever find yourself humming the song, don’t feel embarrassed. You are simply enjoying the song as it should be, rather than how it wound up being presented to the public.

And if I still haven’t convinced you, I suggest you listen to the covers by chestersee, Madilyn Bailey, Justin Ward, the trio of Andy Lange, Andrew Garcia, & Josh Golden, the ‘YouTube Orchestra’ version (which NEEDS to be a thing) made by Raheem D, and a few others. Just give them a chance, and see if you like it any different when done by different people in different styles. Ja né!

Related articles
About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on February 3, 2014, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

