Jyger’s Favourite 5 – 5 Misses of the DCAU

Y’know, I really LOVE the DC Animated Universe, most off all being Batman: The Animated Series and Justice League Unlimited. It just feels it has some of the all-time best interpretations of certain characters from DC Comics. That said, not EVERYTHING they did was golden. And that’s not a check against it, either. It’s perfectly normal and understandable. They just kinda bug me a little. So I thought I’d go ahead and list 5 of the ones that bug me most. Just remember, this is not meant to diminish anyone’s thoughts on the DCAU.

#1 – Galatea

While I like the fact that they introduced a villain specifically for Supergirl, I don’t particularly like the one they went with. Not that there’s much wrong with Galatea from a character standpoint, but I don’t like that they basically took Power Girl, gave her the same backstory as Superboy (except that she’s Supergirl’s clone instead of Superman’s), and then made her unrepentantly evil.

#2 – Batman and Batgirl As A Couple

…Excuse me, I just had to vomit, as I do every time I think of these two as a couple. I’m sorry, but Batman and Batgirl should NEVER be romantic with each other. EVER. It’s icky as all hell. I can see a one way attraction from Babs for a short-term plot, but never as a couple, if for no other reason than HOW MUCH OLDER IS HE THAN HER, ANYWAY??? XP

#3 – TINO (Tim In Name Only)

Again, not a knock against the character, but I’m not sure why he’s named Tim Drake. He just feels WAY more like Jason Todd to me. Think about it: Second Robin, parents dead, kind of a snarky bastard, lack of control over his anger, violent/tragic end to his career as Robin due to the Joker, etc. I know, he has SOME detective and computer skills, but I don’t think it’s enough to justify calling him Tim Drake. Just my opinion.

#4 – The Teen Titans Who Never Were

I think there MAY have been a plan to involve the Titans in the DCAU, but the fact that they never showed up despite being mentioned twice in Static Shock is very odd to me. While I’ve never seen the original pilot for the Justice League animated series, which showed Robin, Impulse, and a female Cyborg with the League, I’m going to assume that they, Static Shock, Beast Boy (who was referenced once), Speedy (who cameod in JLU), and possibly Supergirl and a few other teenage superheroes would’ve formed the Titans in the DCAU. But unfortunately, it never came to be, thus resulting in it sadly becoming a major miss for the DCAU. I hear they might be looking to bring back the DCAU in a couple of years, and with any luck they might do this then…and hopefully, this next thing too…

#5 – Not Going Through With The Birds Of Prey

Okay, lemme explain this one: There was an episode of JLU entitled Double Date that was written by Gail Simone that featured Black Canary and Huntress together on a mission. Now the original script called for Barbara Gordon getting hurt and becoming Oracle, at which point she forms the two into the Birds of Prey. However, because of issues involving the rights to animate Batgirl (see “Bat-embargo”), this idea got vetoed in it instead became about Huntress and The Question going after Steven Mandragora and clashing with Green Arrow and Black Canary. It feels like they really missed out on a great opportunity here. I know Huntress and Black Canary got together for missions later on, but it woulda been even better with Barbara in the mix as well. Like I said, I’d like to see Birds of Prey done when they bring back the DCAU, possibly see them going against the Gotham City Sirens.

So yeah, those are the 5 misses that bug me most. But even with them, the DC Animated Universe was awesome, and I can’t wait for them to bring it back someday, and I will see you all when that marvellous day comes. Ja né!

Justice League Unlimited

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Jyger's Favourite 5 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That pilot would have been awesome!

Leave a Reply

