Pokémon X and Pokémon Y Announced! It’s Evaluating Time!

So because I have some of the most insane timing in the world, here’s another Pokémon blog entry, this time about the new games that were revealed today: Pokémon X and Pokémon Y.

…If you haven’t fangasmed yet, you clearly aren’t that big a Pokémon fan. And since there’s official artwork and gameplay released for the game, that means…

…It’s evaluating time!!!

So, let’s start by looking at the first thing that caught my attention when I saw the article on Serebii.net: The new Pokémon.

The Grass-type Starter, Chespin

So I’ve been a fan of Pokémon since the first games released in North America, and I’ve noticed something about the Grass-type Starter Pokémon:  They’re all reptilian. Dinosaurs, geckos, turtles, and snakes. Chespin, however, is clearly a mammal, meaning it strays from tradition, but that’s okay. I actually like that they’re doing something different, and also, and you’ll excuse me if I drop serious dude points here but, isn’t it the most adorable thing you’ve ever seen?! Oh my God, I just wanna pinch its cheeks, it’s so cute!

The Fire-type Starter, Fennekin

Fennekin looks to be the cool one this time around. ‘Cuz let’s face it, a lot of times the starters are usually cute one, cool one, wacky one. While not the first Fire-type to be based off a fox, I’m sure it’ll be different at least, and hopefully won’t evolve into a Fighting-type like the last three Fire-type starters.

The Water-type Starter, Froakie

That leaves Froakie as the wacky one, and boy does he look wacky. And I don’t mean that in a bad way, just wacky. Look at him, he’s unevolved but he has a beard. One thing I have to note, in particular here, is that it’s kinda hard to determine which Pokémon will specialize in what stats, as the starters tend to do that to better help players decide which one to pick. I honestly can’t tell which one of these three specialize in what. But that’s not too big a deal, we’ll find out soon enough.

Pokémon X and Pokémon Y

Next comes the part I bloody well know people will nitpick the hell outta: The titles for the games. I know I found them kinda odd, especially since surely there’s plenty more colours left to choose from. However, after talking it over with PinkRangerWannabe, I figured out the likely reason why they’re called X and Y: Coordinates. Remember, this is a game that’s in full 3D, AND it’s a game released simultaneously around the world and this will likely result in an expansion on the Global Link to include these games. Suddenly, X and Y make perfect sense.

Finally, let’s look at the region. It seems to be taking full advantage of the new 3D effects to build a wondrous landscape around, plus new ways of exploring the world like leaping from vines. Also, do I possibly detect a France-based region? One tower in the background certainly looked like a well-known tower in France. 😀

Anyway, that’s all from me. Comment below what you think of the new games, and we’ll see what happens in October. Ja né!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Pokémon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Only 9 months? Usually we have to wait like a year and a half between the annoucement and the release!

Leave a Reply

