Why the hate for Power Girl’s new costume?

Huh. Another comic book rant. I hope this doesn’t become a running theme where I end up having to do a Comic Books category just to contain them all…

Oh what the heck, I’ll do it anyway!

Anyway, I was pondering the other day as I was reading World’s Finest why exactly people think that Power Girl‘s new costume is “beyond ugly”. Okay, so I wouldn’t call it the greatest costume ever made, but I honestly don’t see the ugly, so people, please explain. Is it the blue lines? Because I don’t find them distracting. Is it the P emblem on her left breast? Well if so, that’s lame, because heroes have worn their emblem thereabouts for years and no one’s said anything. Is the concern that it draws attention to her breasts? ‘Cuz if so, I gotta say that it does so a heck of a lot less than her old costume!

Ah, but then we get into a slightly more controversial part of the topic. I’ve seen several pictures people have drawn of the new costume but with the hole cut out of the chest to make it look like the old costume, essentially saying the old one was better because we could see her cleavage…which is dumb for a number of reasons, but I’ll start off by addressing the purpose of the hole. The hole is there because she hadn’t chosen a symbol or emblem to distance herself from Superman. Well guess what? This Power Girl HAS an emblem! Thus the hole wouldn’t serve any purpose, other than to excite the perverted. And if that’s the only argument, that there isn’t titillation for the reader…well, that’s not exactly true either. There are plenty of times that Karen dresses up in revealing or sexy outfits in this comic, including one that actually looked a lot like the old Power Girl costume, which was likely done to get the people still arguing this point to shut up.

As a final thought to all of this, I REALLY hope that people aren’t also flipping out because Huntress‘ costume lacks the exposed midriff, and if their are, I seriously mean it when I say “Get a life”. And when I can actually say that and mean it, BE AFRAID. Ja ne!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on August 26, 2012, in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. …If I ever hear anyone complaining about the fact that her cleavage is no longer visible, I will personally rip (here, several words are censored) on fire.

Leave a Reply

