JLA Fanfic – Roster Contemplations

So yeah, already gotten a few requests, both from people online and friends from work. Also, I’ve been thinking about a few heroes that could work into a story I had in mind. As such, right now I’d like to make a short list of some of the heroes I’m currently thinking about possibly using, why I’m considering using them, and the kind of interpretation of the character I plan to do. So let’s start off with one of the most obvious choices…

Superman

Reasoning: What would the Justice League of America be without “Mr. Truth, Justice, and the American Way”? And for the record, I’m very much Canadian and damned proud of it, but I can also appreciate the need for this team to have an all-American…granted, an all-American that’s from outer space, but hey, that just makes him more awesome, am I right? Oh yeah, and he is super strong, can fly at supersonic speeds, and is damned near invulnerable, save for exposure to Kryptonite, red sun light, and magic.

Interpretation: Mostly pre-DCnU comics version. Strong of will, body, and heart. He’ll usually try to end a fight quickly so that he can save anyone in the general area, and is highly protective of the Earth and her people. He’ll be wearing the classic tights, but I do have an idea for how he could get the DCnU armour later as well as reasons for using it.

Alan Scott

Reasoning: Because of course I would think of picking a Green Lantern, and who better than the original, eh? Plus, this way I don’t have to involve the Guardians of the Universe, who I hear have actually been revealed to be villains…which is not a huge shocker, I kinda figured they were evil for a while.

Interpretation: New 52 Earth-2 version. Why? Because in all honesty, I really love this interpretation of the character and his origin story. I actually like it better than the original origin story for the character from back in the Golden Age. Anyway, his powers are infused into his body by The Green, which he focuses through a ring transfigured from the engagement ring he was going to give his lover Sam just before his tragic death. He’s kind-hearted and respects the hell out of the heroes that came before him, and while he doesn’t believe he’s the most worthy of the power, he will use it to defend the Earth.

Diana of Themyscira

Reasoning: Much like with Superman, it’s hard to imagine a Justice League without Wonder Woman. The Spirit of Truth, champion of her people, she is strong and honourable, and has been granted powers and equipment from the Greek Gods. Oh, and she’s also got a frigging invisible jet. lol

Interpretation: Of course, the attributes of her character that I’d want to emphasise most is her strong will and her immense compassion. I don’t actually read Wonder Woman, so I don’t know that she ever actually wore the cape and wields the shield and sword as she’s seen on the cover of Gail Simone‘s run with the comic, but I just love the crap outta this design, so I think I’d wanna use it. Naturally, she’d never use the sword to straight up murder someone, just as self-defense or against robots or the like. And yes, I know she killed Maxwell Lord, it was a long time ago and she felt horrible to be brought to the point where she needed to do that…also, I’m not sure, but I don’t even think that’s canon in the DCnU anymore. o.O

Booster Gold

Reasoning: This one I probably wouldn’t have thought of if not for the fact that he was a request, but then again, why not? He’s a unique personality, can often-times work for comedic relief, and is obviously a capable fighter. Add in a robot buddy and that he comes from the future, and again I have to ask: Why not?

Interpretation: Okay, when I told my friends at work about this request, their jaws dropped and they told me it was a horrible idea. I’m pretty sure it’s because a lot of interpretations of the character make him seem like he’s only in the superhero biz for money and fame. He’s NOT, it’s just a perk for him, and occasionally an emotional smokescreen. And I think that’s the interpretation I wanna go with.

Jaime Reyes

Reasoning: Okay, this one is more because of Linkara than anything else. I’ve heard him talk on and on about how awesome Blue Beetle was before the DCnU. Based solely on what I’ve read about him, I gotta agree. He kinda looks like a mix of Kamen Rider Gatack and Mega Man, which is awesome, and I like the idea that he’s a young hero with a group of friends that know who he is and help him out…at least they did pre-DCnU, which leads me to interpretation…

Interpretation: Pre-DCnU. Okay, like I alluded to, I didn’t read Blue Beetle back in his awesome days, but I HAVE seen what the DCnU has done to him, and while a lot of good has come out of the DCnU, this is an example of some of the really, REALLY bad. So yeah, definitely his pre-DCnU days where the Scarab was his partner and his friends helped him as a hero.

Batman

Reasoning: …He’s Batman. Need I say more? Yeah okay, I know he hasn’t ALWAYS been a member of the JLA, sometimes operating as an unofficial ally and affiliate. But c’mon, this is my favourite superhero, how could I not consider using him? The only reason I don’t just outright say he’s in is because I’m concerned my love of the character might conflict with the story and that I might try to make him too badass.

Interpretation: I think the things I’d want to emphasise most are his master detective skills and ingenuity, as well as his athleticism. From a visual standpoint, his costume will most resemble his Batman Incorporated costume, but at the same time he’ll use a lot of the gadgets and tech seen in The Dark Knight trilogy and the Arkham games. In other words, this will be a very modern Batman.

Black Canary

Reasoning: At one point, Black Canary was actually the LEADER of the JLA. I think that entitles her to at least be considered for membership here. Sadly, I don’t really know too much about the character beyond that, just her powers and skills, and that she apparently was married to Green Arrow which ended in epic failure. Oh, and that she used to have a daughter that she had to give up. Okay, so I guess I know things that happened to her, but her actual personality, that I’ll need to do more research on before I give her a decision.

Interpretation: Again, that’ll have to be decided after I’ve researched her personality a bit more. Otherwise, I figure she’d be the highest ranking martial artist of the group if she’s on, and of course still have her Canary Cry. I would NOT, however, make her an outlaw as she apparently seems to be in the DCnU (haven’t read Birds of Prey, just the tie-in comic with Night of the Owls).

Wally West

Reasoning: Again, I could not do a JLA fic without considering using The Flash. So why Wally West? For a few reasons. 1) He seems to have disappeared with the DCnU, which I find to be wrong. 2) Apparently a lot of people find Barry Allen to be boring. 3) He was the first Flash I was really all that exposed to, thanks to the DCAU cartoon Justice League (later Justice League Unlimited).

Interpretation: Pretty much the Justice League Unlimited version. Cocky, comic relief, and genuinely cares for his team-mates. The only differences I would make is to include the abilities he has in the comics that were missing from the show, particularly his intangibility.

Raven

Reasoning: I love this character SO much. Sorry, I just do. And like with the other Titans, I tend to blame that on the Teen Titans cartoon, where she used powerful magic with a dark nature and a sarcastic sense of humour, usually would smack someone for trying to be comic relief. Now as I understand it, she’s nothing like that in the comics, but I still find that to make her a fun character that I have been itching to try and write for.

Interpretation: Personality wise, I gotta go with the Teen Titans cartoon, albeit slightly modified to work as an adult. Also, her powers and abilities will be something of a cross between those in the cartoon and those in the comics.

Anyway, that’s enough for now. I’ll list off some more that I’m thinking of using later on. In the meantime, keep am eye open as I plan to release a list of potential villains that’ll appear in my fic. Ja ne!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Fanfiction/Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

