The Music of Today

…Wow, I can’t believe I actually decided to go ahead with an actual blog revolving around my rants. But, here I am, so I think I’ll start on little issue I have a LOT at work…

So yeah, ’bout a year ago someone in my area at work turned on the radio, and honestly there was like 3-6 songs that were all either remakes, rip-offs, or tributes to songs that came out and were popular 10, 20, or even 30 years ago! It’s alright when you get one or two of these every so often, but they all flood out at once, it tells me that perhaps certain songwriters or whatnot can’t seem to come up with anything good nowadays and are biding their time doing these.

Now I am not going to sit here and say that I NEVER do the same thing. I borrow lines without realising it at times, I quote and whatnot, but do I end all of my videos, conversations, and dialogs with “I’m Jyger85, I remember it so you don’t have to”? NO! That said, when I turn on the radio, and all I hear is Melanie Fiona sampling ‘Time of the Season’, or Flo Rida using the chorus of ‘You Spin Me Round’ and samples of ‘Blue (Da Ba Dee)’, or Black Eyed Peas covering ‘Time of My Life’ or Kanye West tributing ‘Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger’, or any of these other rip-offs or tributes, it tends to tick me off just a smidge.

And by the way, I’m well aware that a big part of this has to do with what station I put it on, and if I’m ever dissatisfied with what’s on there, I can always change that channel…as long as I am willing to take a fist to the mouth.

And that brings me to a little side-topic. Why in the hell aren’t you allowed to change the radio station in the workplace without getting yelled at? Was it like a lesser known commandment that nobody likes to talk about? ‘Thou shalt not change the radio station in the workplace’? And if you think I’m wrong, go ahead and try to change the radio station during work time. You will most likely receive a slew of curses and glares and possibly even blunt objects upon doing so. That’s all from me, and good luck in your suicide run. lol

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on April 11, 2011, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

