A Look At Recent DC Costume/Appearance Redesigns

So, one of the many changes that came with the New 52 were new costumes/appearances. A lot of them have stuck, a couple went back to normal, and we’ve even seen one or two additional redesigns since the reboot got started. So, I thought I’d take a sec to give my own thoughts on a lot of ‘em. And where better to start than…

Superman in the New 52

I’ve mentioned this before on the blog and in the author’s notes of my Man of Tomorrow fanfic, but I’m actually fine with Superman wearing a sort of armoured suit, provided it actually looks like the Superman costume. Why? Because we’ve seen him fight opponents with access to one or more of his weaknesses, like Metallo, or can just power through him, like Doomsday. It only makes sense that he might wanna wear more protection in case of such an event. Heck, if I have ANY complaint with Superman’s general appearance in the New 52, it’s with how frigging young he looks. I’m sorry, it just bugs me. He doesn’t look like a smart, experienced superhero to me. And yes, I’m aware that Superman can extend his bio-electrical field around his costume, thus generally protecting it from being torn to shreds in battles, but there have been occasions where that didn’t work out so well, so a more durable costume would make sense there…which actually brings me to the next costume on my list…

Power Girl in the New 52

I remember getting a LOT of heat for saying I liked Power Girl’s costume in Worlds’ Finest. I still don’t quite get what the problem with it was from its appearance. Maybe the blue lines going down her sides? I dunno, even they didn’t seem bad, really. And plus, the costume came complete with an actual logo for her. But, that said, I did have a problem with the costume, but it had nothing to do with the appearance. Rather, it had to do with every copy of the costume (and one or two of her other outfits) winding up like THIS!

How is it that the costume with the boob window still winds up more modest than the one that covers her full body? Well, making the newer one out of the flimsiest fucking material on Earth and/or Krypton was a start!

Nightwing in the New 52

I’ve mentioned this before with both of Nightwing’s New 52 costumes, but if I haven’t made my point, here it is: They both look fine from a design standpoint, but PLEASE put him in blue again, PLEASE. There’s just too much red in DC nowadays, and Nightwing looks better in blue. Admittedly, though, the newer one in his solo book DOES look better than the previous, particularly when there’s a lot of blue lighting around in the comic against his red and black costume. Almost makes him look like Spider-Man. :D

Wonder Woman in the New 52

Not really a complaint against the design, since it looks a lot like the classic swimsuit-esque Wonder Woman costume. Little confused why the gold portions were changed to silver, but not too big a deal, I guess. No, my issue is that it’s clearly constructed as body armour…Okay, I don’t have a problem with the standard Wonder Woman costume, but when you make body armour, shouldn’t it really COVER THE BODY? Y’know, while we’re on the subject, could someone please explain why everyone hated the costume she wore in the J. Michael Straczynski era? I mean, I could say a lot about JMS’ run in comics, *COUGH!*ONEMOREDAY*COUGH!*, but I can’t really fault him for this. It provided protection to her whole body, and she still managed to look like Wonder Woman. In other words, it’s not like THIS…

Wonder Woman in the 90’s

Okay, for real? I never wanna hear anybody complain about the JMS era costume ever again, because like I said before, at least in that costume, she still looks like Wonder Woman. In the 90’s costume, she looks like a biker who fell off her motorcycle, got amnesia, and when she woke up, she saw stars on her costume and thought she was Wonder Woman for some reason.

Anyway, I think that’s enough for now, but I should probably make a note to come back with more later on. Discuss away, and I’ll see y’all next time. Ja né!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on October 23, 2013, in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree. If it’s armor it should cover more. But, in a few of the comics I have seen for the New 52 Wonder Woman is more covered. She even has pants lol But, I think it looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

