How Would I Rebuild The DC Universe From Scratch? – The Big 3

So you’ll notice I haven’t done What Would I Do With The New 52 in a while. The reason is actually quite obvious: There’s really no point. The New 52, if you actually still wanna call it that since it is neither new nor made up of 52 comic series, is whatever Didio and the rest of the higher-ups at DC Comics choose it to be. Hell, they’re even rebooting stuff that’s already rebooted, like redesigning Lobo so he looks like something outta Twilight. On top of that, a lot of what I was suggesting actually ended up being what we got anyway, so why bother talking about what I’d do different?

So I was thinking the other: What if I was tasked with rebuilding the entire DC Universe from scratch, either for a reboot or a fanfic or a DC equivalent of the Marvel Ultimate universe? How would I do a whole new DC Universe, while still taking cues from things that have been done in previous continuities? So, that’s what I’m here to talk about: How Would I Rebuild The DC Universe From Scratch? Let’s start with the Big 3 of Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman. (Btw, if you wonder why I bother with THIS, it’s simply because I never know what I might wind up doing in the future. I might end up writing a DC fanfic someday, I don’t know.)

Superman

For Superman, I’d probably wanna tell both the current stories of Superman, what he’s doing in the present day, while also covering his teenage years, bringing back the old Superboy. Plus, he’d be wearing the tights his mother made for him as a teenager, but then upgrade to a more modern suit in his adult years. That said, I think I’d want said suit to at least look similar to his tights. There’s actually a concept art for Superman in Injustice: Gods Among Us that shows him in an armoured version of the old Superman tights that would actually look great (side-note, looking at him in that suit with that face, they SO shoulda used that for Regime Superman in that game). Also, I’d probably take a note from Man of Steel and have Lois Lane know who he is from the start and be his support/love interest.

Batman and Robin

For Batman, I’d probably wanna start his story off as Robin (Dick Grayson) finishes his training and the two are ready to tackle crime as a duo. I would of course make reference to Batman and Robin‘s origins, but I’d keep them generally the same and only make small references since…well, you don’t really NEED to constantly go over the origin story, since most people already flipping know it. Batman would probably wear a suit akin to The Dark Knight costume, albeit with dark blue and dark gray instead of pure black all over, while I’d imagine Robin would wear something close to his Teen Titans outfit, but possibly also have the wings Tim Drake currently uses folded under it for flight.

Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman needs to go back to being the compassionate one, the Spirit of Truth, someone who would never kill or allow death to occur on her watch, while at the same time would straight up headbutt Darkseid in the teeth during one of his speeches. lol Also, re-establish her and Superman’s FRIENDSHIP. I really feel like making them a couple cost them something far more important. I’d probably bring back Donna Troy as well, using the idea of her being a mirror-reflection of Diana as a teenager, without confusing her back-story the way it was originally. As for her costume…Yeah, I’m sorry, I’d probably put her in the pants too. Sorry for anyone who has a problem with that, but I’d put her in pants. Also, I think I’d wanna give her the tiara with a nose-guard that we see in her appearances in Frank Miller books, minus anything else that she has/does/acts like in Frank Miller books. lol

So that’s what I’d do with those three if I was doing one of those three things (alternate universe, reboot, or fanfic). What about you guys? Leave a comment below describing what you’d do in those scenarios, and next up, we’ll talk some of the other major heroes, like Green Lantern and The Flash. Ja né!

About Jyger85

Huge fan of wrestling, Kamen Rider, Power Rangers/Super Sentai, and video games. But I WILL talk smack when one of them tick me off. lol

Posted on August 27, 2013, in How Would I Rebuild The DC Universe From Scratch? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Agreed,agreed,and agreed. ^_^

  2. Hear hear, to all three! I am seriously wanting some new DickRobin stories. I love the dynamic between that duo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

